Faculty News


Dana Thompson Dorsey chosen for Engaged Scholars Program

Dana Thompson Dorsey, assistant professor of educational leadership and policy, has been chosen to participate in Carolina’s Thorp Engage Scholars Program. She is one of ten faculty members from across campus to be chosen for this cohort in the program.

Gulledge named director of Academic Leadership Program

Suzanne Gulledge, clinical professor of teacher education, curriculum and instruction, international and experiential education and former chair of the faculty in the School of Education, has been named the new director of the Academic Leadership Program, effective July 1.

Needs of military children get attention

Lora Cohen-Vogel second lady Jill Biden discuss the need for more research into the needs of children of military families.

Sherick Hughes wins AERA Scholars of Color award

Sherick Hughes, associate professor in the School of Education, has been selected to receive the 2016 Scholars of Color Distinguished Scholar Award from the American Educational Research Association.

Noblit selected to receive Mary Anne Raywid Award

George Noblit, the Joseph R. Neikirk Distinguished Professor of Sociology of Education at the School of Education, has been selected by the Society of Professors of Education to receive the 2016 Mary Anne Raywid Award.

Kelly Ryoo wins $674,000 National Science Foundation Grant

Kihyun “Kelly” Ryoo, assistant professor of learning sciences at UNC-Chapel Hill’s School of Education, has won a prestigious $674,000 CAREER grant from the National Science Foundation.