Faculty News


Meece named second McMichael Professor

Judith Meece, professor of educational psychology, has been named to the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Education’s McMichael Term Professorship, becoming the second faculty member to hold the professorship.

Experiential learning expert Sharon Derry joins faculty

Sharon Derry, an accomplished researcher who studies the application of cognitive science to problems of education, has joined the School of Education as the Thomas James Distinguished Professor in Experiential Learning.

Looking for a creative spark? Sawyer says practice lights the flame

Stuck in a rut? Trying to come up with something new? Keith Sawyer, the Morgan Distinguished Professor in Educational Innovations at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's School of Education, has tips for you.

Fen English honored as 'living legend' by NCPEA

Fen English, the R. Wendell Eaves Sr. Distinguished Professor of Educational Leadership, has been honored by the National Council of Professors of Educational Administration with its "Living Legend Award."

Cadie Blalock retiring after 28 years at School of Education

Cadie Blalock has seen a lot of change during her career at the School of Education. But now the change is Blalock’s. She’s retiring this month after 28 years of serving the School and its people.

James J. Gallagher given N.C.'s Old North State Award

James Gallagher, a member of the faculty at the School of Education from 1970 to 1998, has been honored with The Old North State Award.

Carol Malloy to be honored for career dedicated to mathematics education

Carol Malloy (Ph.D. ’94), a retired member of the School of Education faculty, will be honored with a lifetime achievement award by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics for her service to the field of mathematics education.

New statistics textbook by Bill Ware published

A new statistics textbook by Bill Ware, professor of educational psychology, has been published.

Patrick Akos named to ASCA governing board

Professor Patrick Akos, coordinator of the school counseling program at the School of Education, has been elected to the board of directors of the American School Counselor Association.

Lora Cohen-Vogel included in 'Public Presence Rankings'

Lora Cohen-Vogel, the Robena and Walter E. Hussman, Jr. Distinguished Associate Professor of Policy and Education Reform, once again is included in this year’s edition of the RHSU Edu-Scholar Public Presence Rankings.