Faculty News


Ware named first McMichael Professor

William B. Ware, professor of educational psychology and professor of social work, has been named the inaugural recipient of the McMichael Term Professorship.

Meece, Horner project wins Community-Campus Partnership grant

School of Education faculty members Judith Meece and Martinette Horner have been awarded a $9,400 grant from UNC-Chapel Hill's Community-Campus Partnership to conduct an analysis of school drop-out events in Caswell County and to work with Caswell County Schools Superintendent Douglas Barker to design a retention program.

Eileen Parsons awarded fellowship

Eileen R. Carlton Parsons, associate professor of science education, has been awarded a fellowship from the American Association for the Advancement of Science to work at the National Science Foundation during this academic year.

Fenwick English assumes presidency of national association

Fen English, Eaves Distinguished Professor of Educational Leadership, has assumed the presidency of the National Council of Professors of Educational Administration.

Judith Meece elected to American Psychological Association division leadership

Judith Meece, professor of educational psychology, has been elected to a three-year term as a member of the Executive Committee of Division 15 (Educational Psychology) of the American Psychological Association.

Gregory Cizek elected to NCME leadership

Gregory Cizek, professor of educational measurement and evaluation, has assumed the vice presidency of the National Council on Measurement in Education, a position in which he will serve until April 2012 when he becomes president of the group.

Rune Simeonsson to receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Rune Simeonsson, professor of school psychology and early childhood education, will be honored this fall with the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Disability Section of the American Public Health Association.

A roundup of SOE faculty accomplishments

Jill Fitzgerald inducted into Reading Hall of Fame, Melissa Miller wins Distinguished Teaching Award, Xue Lan Rong named outstanding reviewer, Gregory Cizek elected vice president and president-elect of the National Council on Measurement in Education, and more!

Lynne Vernon-Feagans wins University service award

Lynne Vernon-Feagans, William C. Friday Distinguished Professor of Early Childhood, Intervention and Literacy, has been named a winner of the University's 2011 Robert E. Bryan Public Service Award.

Melissa Miller wins University teaching award

Melissa Miller, assistant professor of special education and coordinator of the special education-general curriculum program, has won a Distinguished Teaching Award for Post-Baccalaureate Instruction and Mentoring.

Jill Fitzgerald to be inducted into Reading Hall of Fame

Jill Fitzgerald, professor of literacy, will be honored at the International Reading Association annual conference in May by being inducted into the Reading Hall of Fame.