Student News

School initiates undergraduates into Kappa Delta Pi

Kappa Delta Pi, the 90-year-old international honor society for outstanding undergraduate students in education, welcomed 39 new initiates May 1, 2007.  Eligibility requirements include at least a 3.4 grade point average and a strong record of leadership and service.

Dean Tom James addressed the initiates and their guests, speaking about what it means to be an educator today.

Professor Barbara Day, faculty advisor to Kappa Delta Pi, said that the ideals of Kappa Delta Pi include a belief that human beings can experience more meaningful lives through education.

The following officers were named for 2007-08, based on grade point average: President India Blaire Evans, Vice President Melissa Ann Taylor, Secretary Lisa Ashby Smitherman, Treasurer Sarah Foster Fish and Historian Jenna Louise Rinaldi.

The newly inducted members of Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education are:

Stephanie Rebecca Atkinson
Ansley Brooke Austin
Christine Elizabeth Bethel
Allison Paige Callahan
Meredith Leigh Caudle
Jessica Paige Coble
Laura Allison Cox
Stephanie Covill
Christina Marie Diaz
Lauren Brittany Easter
Megan Janelle Edwards
India Blaire Evans
Sarah Foster Fish
Stephanie Jordan Forrister
Holly Kristen Geiger
Kelsey Leigh Glisson
Kelly Harding
Ashley Dawn Parisoe
Sarah Meares Kenney
Rebecca Bryn Lippert
Tiffany Nicole Mattocks
Mary Grace Miller
Nichole Lynn Nettleton
Mary Lindsay Noble
Jill Mary North
Cynthia Marie Parlow
Kimberly L. Phelps
Caroline Maria Pinkston
Jenna Louise Rinaldi
Katherine Rose Schuman
Meredith Shaw
Kristina Marie Smith
Lisa Ashby Smitherman
Sara Ashlyn Stone
Elizabeth Dawn Tart
Melissa Ann Taylor
Rachel Elizabeth Ward
Jennifer Lauren Whicker
Erica Beth Zimmerman

More information about Kappa Delta Pi can be found on the organization’s Web site at