Student News


Heather O'Reilly receives 2007 NCAA's Top VIII Award

Senior Heather O'Reilly (A.B.Ed. `07) has been selected as a recipient of the 2007 NCAA's Top VIII Award, an honor given annually to eight student-athletes who excel athletically, academically and in leadership and community service.

Heather O'Reilly leads team to NCAA Championship

Senior Heather O'Reilly (A.B.Ed. `07) scored goals in both the semifinal and final games of the NCAA tournament to lead the women's soccer team to a national championship Dec. 3 at SAS Soccer Park in Cary. Junior goalkeeper Eva Baucom (A.B.Ed. `08) is also a member of the elite Tar Heel women’s soccer program, which has won 18 national titles in 25 years.

Chih-Ing Lim is author of JECTE’s Most Distinguished Article of 2005
Harriet Boone is second author

An article written by Chih-Ing Lim, a third-year doctoral student in Early Childhood, Families and Literacy, was recently named the Journal of Early Childhood Teacher Education’s Distinguished Article of 2005. The article, titled “Diversity Competencies within Early Childhood Teacher Preparation: Innovative Practices and Future Directions,” was coauthored by Harriet Boone, associate professor of early childhood intervention and family support.

Jason Painter named Outstanding Science Education Leader in North Carolina

Jason Painter, a fifth-year Ph.D. student in Educational Psychology, Measurement and Evaluation, was recently named this year’s recipient of the North Carolina Science Leadership Association’s (NCSLA) Herman Gatling Award for Outstanding Science Education Leadership in North Carolina. The award is the highest honor given by NCSLA each year.

Kristin Post receives Rotary Fellowship,
will study in Brisbane, Australia

Kristin Post, a master’s student in culture, curriculum and change, has received a two-year Rotary World Peace Fellowship to study in Australia. Beginning in February 2007, Post will earn a degree in peace and conflict studies from the University of Queensland in Brisbane.

Darlene Head-Reeves receives AERA Dissertation Grant

Darlene Head-Reeves, a Ph.D. student in Early Childhood, Families and Literacy, recently received a $15,000 Dissertation Grant from the American Educational Research Association (AERA). Her proposed research examines the relationships between key dimensions of fathering and the developmental outcomes of children. 

Beth Powers Costello named Future Faculty Fellow

Beth Powers Costello, Ph.D. candidate in the Culture, Curriculum and Change Program, was recently chosen as a Future Faculty Fellow through the UNC Center for Teaching and Learning.

Bob Pleasants recognized for work to end domestic violence

Bob Pleasants, a third-year doctoral student in the Culture, Curriculum and Change Program and teen services coordinator for the Family Violence Prevention Center of Orange County, was recognized by the national Sunshine Lady Foundation for his contributions to ending domestic violence. Pleasants was one of 37 people chosen nationwide to receive a “Certificate of Sunshine” excellence award. The award includes a $1,000 donation to the center.

Students in M.Ed. Program for Experienced Teachers are named Teachers of the Year, listed in Who’s Who

Six teachers who are enrolled in the School of Education’s Master of Education Program for Experienced Teachers have received professional honors. Four have been named Teachers of the Year, and one has been selected for Who’s Who Among American Teachers. A sixth has received both honors.

Katie Doyle, Sarah Richardson graduate with Highest Honors

Katie Doyle and Sarah Richardson were awarded highest honors for their senior theses completed in the School of Education. Both students graduated today at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill commencement ceremony at Kenan Stadium.

Outstanding undergraduates inducted into Kappa Delta Pi
Jason Kamras, 2005 National Teacher of the Year, tells inductees to work for equity in education

Kappa Delta Pi, the 90-year-old international honor society for outstanding undergraduate students in education, welcomed 20 new initiates on April 25, 2006. The featured speaker at the initiation was Jason Kamras, the 2005 National Teacher of the Year.

Jessica Clemens receives Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award

Jessica Clemens, a senior majoring in child development and family studies, received the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award at the Chancellor’s Awards Ceremony on April 17, 2006. The award is given annually to a UNC-Chapel Hill student who has made the greatest contribution to the quality of campus life through participation in student programs.

Bob Pleasants inducted into Frank Porter Graham Honor Society

Bob Pleasants, a third-year doctoral student in the Culture, Curriculum and Change Program, was among 13 graduate students inducted into the Frank Porter Graham Graduate and Professional Student Honor Society on April 6, 2006.

Heather O’Reilly named ACC All-Academic

Heather O’Reilly, junior middle grades education major and star forward on UNC women’s soccer team, was recently named to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Soccer Team.

Margarita Machado-Casas, Meghan McGlinn and Drinda Benge receive campus-wide recognition for outstanding research

Two students from the School of Education were selected to receive a Graduate Education Advancement Board (GEAB) Impact Award, and a third received honorable mention, for their outstanding graduate student research that is of particular benefit to North Carolina. The winners will be recognized during the Graduate School’s Annual Student Recognition Celebration on Thursday, April 6.

Five doctoral students present research at SEAES Conference

Five doctoral students from the School of Education presented research findings at the Southeastern Association of Educational Studies (SEAES) conference on Feb. 11 at University of Tennessee in Knoxville. The presenters were Kathleen Rands and Kari Lee Siko, of the Culture, Curriculum and Change Program, and Cathie Field, Yongmei Li and Chih-Ing Lim, of the Early Childhood, Families and Literacy Program. The goal of the annual regional SEAES Conference is to stimulate productive and progressive dialogue across the many disciplinary lines of inquiry related to education.

Natalie Siegel wins national recognition for research poster on bullying

Natalie Siegel, a third-year doctoral student in the School Psychology Program, was awarded first place in the United States from Division 16 ─ School Psychology ─ of the American Psychological Association for her research poster titled, “Who Cares? Empathic Concern, Peers and Bullying Prevention.”