Student News


Lauren Mazziotto Coaches High School Field Hockey Team to State Championships

Lauren Mazzioto, a Master of Education student in the School Counseling Program, coached the Chapel Hill High School girls’ field hockey team to the state championships. She is playing for the USA Team in the Indoor Pan American Cup.

Middle Grades Students Support Victims of Hurricane Katrina

Members of the Collegiate Middle Level Association sponsored a school supply drive to benefit the East Baton Rouge Parish public school system, which opened its door this fall to more than 7,8000 new students displaced by Hurricane Katrina.

Heidi Hollingsworth Wins Dissertation Award

Heidi Hollingsworth, a Ph.D. student in early childhood, families and literacy, received a James J. Gallagher Dissertation Award, presented by the Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute.

Jenn Baucom, Andrea Messick, Ashton Wheeler Graduate with Honors

Three School of Education students were awarded highest honors (Baucom) or honors (Messick and Wheeler) at UNC’s commencement ceremony on May 15, 2005.  Jenn Baucom, Andrea Messick and Ashton Wheeler all were recognized for their academic achievement and completion of a senior thesis.

School Initiates Undergraduates into Kappa Delta Pi

Kappa Delta Pi, the 90-year-old international honor society for outstanding undergraduate students in education, welcomed 24 new initiates on April 28, 2005.  Eligibility requirements include at least a 3.4 grade point average and a strong record of leadership and service.

Tyler White Honored for Scholarship and Leadership

Tyler White, a senior elementary education major, received the Chi Omega Award for Scholarship and Leadership at the annual Chancellor’s Awards ceremony.

Edith Best Inducted into National Academic Honor Society

Edith Best, a second-year student in the Master of School Administration Program, was inducted into Alpha Epsilon Lambda, a national academic honor society for graduate and professional students.

David Holdzkom Inducted into Two Honor Societies Recognizing Academic Achievement and Community Service

David Holdzkom, a third-year Ph.D. student in culture, curriculum and change, was inducted into two honor societies on April 7, 2005 – the Alpha Epsilon Lambda academic honor society and the Frank Porter Graham Graduate and Professional Student Honor Society. 

Melissa Rasberry Inducted into Academic Honor Society

Melissa Rasberry, a second-year Ed.D. student in the Education Leadership Program, was inducted into the Alpha epsilon Lambda on April 7, 2005.

Bayinaah Jones Receives Dissertation Fellowship

Bayinaah Jones, a third-year Ph.D. student in culture, curriculum and change, received an Off-Campus Dissertation Fellowship from the UNC-Chapel Hill Graduate School for fall 2005. 

Sarah Richardson Receives Undergraduate Research Fellowship

Sarah Richardson, a junior elementary education major, received a UNC-Chapel Hill Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship. 

Melanie Shoffner Receives Fellowships for Dissertation Research and Teaching

Melanie Shoffner, a third-year Ph.D. student in culture, curriculum and change, received a Dissertation Completion Fellowship for 2005-06.  She also received a Future Faculty Fellowship from the UNC-Chapel Hill Center for Teaching and Learning.

Ronda Taylor Wins Gates Millennium Scholarship

Ronda Taylor, a secondary English education major in the Master of Arts in Teaching Program, received a Gates Millennium Scholarship, an award given to outstanding students who have financial need and have demonstrated high academic achievement and leadership promise.

Jan Yow Receives Scholarship from International Society

Jan Yow, a Ph.D. student in culture, curriculum and change, received the Founders Scholarship from the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International.  This honor society awards scholarships to aid outstanding women educators in pursuing graduate study.

Mark Ellis, Samantha Burg, Tate Gould, Rita L. Joyner, Patricia Sylvester Recognized for Research Paper

Mark Ellis, Samantha Burg, Tate Gould, Rita L. Joyner and Patricia Sylvester won the 2004 Marvin Wyne Distinguished Student Paper Award from the N.C. Association for Research in Education.  They are Ph.D. students in the School of Education.

Graduate Student Association hosts 10th Annual Southeastern Association of Educational Studies Conference

The School of Education’s Graduate Student Association hosted the 10th Annual Southeastern Association of Educational Studies Conference at Peabody Hall on Feb. 25-26, 2005.  More than 100 graduate students, undergraduates, teachers, community educators and university faculty from Southeastern United States exchanged creative ideas through research and theoretical presentations.

Samantha Burg to Chair National Graduate Student Issues Committee

Samantha Burg, a second-year Ph.D. student in educational psychology, measurement and evaluation, has been appointed chair of the Graduate Student Issues Committee of the National Council on Measurement in Education.