SOE News

Peabody Pulse

Registration open for May 19 improvement science ‘lightning symposium’

More than 45 Carolina faculty members will give “lightning” five-minute talks or discuss posters about their work in improvement science at a campuswide symposium on May 19. The event – “Toward a Carolina Improvement Science Initiative: A Lighting Symposium” – brings together Carolina faculty, staff, and graduate students who are working on improvement at scale. The School of Education is one of the sponsors. The free symposium will be held at the George Watts Hill Alumni Center, from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. The registration deadline is next Monday.

Diana Lys elected chair of AERA special interest group

Diana Lys, assistant dean of educator preparation and accreditation, has been elected chair of the AERA’s Accreditation, Assessment, and Program Evaluation special interest group. Lys, who earned her M.A.T. and Ed.D. degrees from the School of Education, joined the School’s leadership team in 2016. Previously she worked at East Carolina University as director of assessment and accreditation for the College of Education. She has been a leader in implementation of the edTPA teacher candidate assessment system in North Carolina. She will serve a three-year term as chair of the special interest group.

Staff lunch with deans on Wednesday; faculty lunch May 10

Faculty and staff are invited to a series of “Lunches with the Deans” where you have the opportunity to drop in and talk about the various initiatives underway in the School. The get-togethers are informal drop-in events. But you may also RSVP to help determine how many lunches to order for each event.

Staff lunch:

Wednesday, May 3, 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m., Room 02

Faculty lunch:

Wednesday, May 10, 2017, 12-1:30 p.m., Room 212


GSA Officers Elected

The School of Education’s Graduate Student Association has elected new officers for the 2017-2018 academic year. They are Dalila Dragnic-Cindric, president; Charles Midthun, vice president and president-elect; Taylor Ballard, treasurer; Jessica Benton, Secretary; Sarah Pendonti, communication chair; Jessica Hayden and Olivia Scott, social chairs; Andrew Garbisch and Michael Boglovits, brown bag chairs; and, Taylor William Schmidt, Graduate and Professional Student Federation senator.

Publications, presentations, grants etc.

Doctoral student Robert Carr has been awarded funding from the Society of Multivariate Experimental Psychology to attend a SMEP professional development workshop next month in Chapel Hill.

Morton, T., Parsons, E. & Jackson, C. (April 2017). Black females in STEM undergraduate research programs: Strengths and assets associated with their identities. Paper presented at the National Association for Research in Science Teaching. San Antonio, Texas. (Morton is a doctoral student in the Learning Sciences and Psychological Studies strand of the Ph.D. in Education.)

Be the first to know! 'Like' us on Facebook. Follow us on Instagram.

Want to be among the in-the-know SOE crowd? Click “Like” on the School’s Facebook page and you’ll get the latest dope straight in your news feed. Join the SOE Facebook here. And, we now have an Instagram. Follow us at

Got news?

Have you got news to share? A new paper published? Make a conference presentation? Win a grant? Do you know of an upcoming SOE event of interest to others? A shoutout, about yourself or someone you know? Send your news to Mike Hobbs at


Wednesday, May 3

Staff Lunch with the Deans
12:30p.m. - 2:00p.m.
Peabody 02

Wednesday, May 10

Faculty Lunch with the Deans
Noon - 1:30p.m.
Peabody 212

Thursday, May 11

Faculty-Staff Thank You Celebration
Top of the Hill Great Room
4:00p.m. - 6:00p.m.

Friday, May 12

Commencement Reception
6:00p.m. - 8:00p.m.
George Watts Hill Alumni Center

Saturday, May 13

Dean Smith Center

Friday, May 19

Improvement Science Symposium
8:30a.m. to 3:30p.m.
George Watts Hill Alumni Center