SOE News

Gary Henry named distinguished visiting professor

Gary T. Henry, a professor in the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies at Georgia State University, will join the School of Education faculty on July 1 as the William Neil Reynolds Distinguished Visiting Professor. He is a leading scholar in educational policy and evaluation. 

Henry is jointly appointed in the Department of Public Administration and Urban Studies and the Department of Political Science at Georgia State University, and the Department of Public Policy at Georgia Institute of Technology. He previously served as director of evaluation and learning services for the David and Lucile Packard Foundation. 

Henry has evaluated a variety of policies and programs, including Georgia’s Universal Pre-K, public information campaigns and the HOPE Scholarship as well as school reforms and accountability systems. 

The author of Practical Sampling (Sage 1990), Graphing Data (Sage 1995) and co-author of Evaluation: An Integrated Framework for Understanding, Guiding, and Improving Policies and Programs (Jossey-Bass 2000), Henry has published extensively in the field of evaluation and education policy. 

He received the Evaluation of the Year Award from the American Evaluation Association in 1998 for his work with the Georgia’s Council for School Performance. In 2001, he was awarded the Joseph S. Wholey Distinguished Scholarship Award from the American Society for Public Administration and the Center for Accountability and Performance. 

Henry currently serves on scientific peer review panels for the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. He also serves on a National Research Council/National Academy of Science panel assessing the effects of “green schools” on the health and productivity of teachers and students.

His Ph.D. is from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

The William Neil Reynolds post is an endowed visiting professorship that rotates to different academic units on the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill campus. It is administered by the Office of the Provost.