Faculty News

Fen English nominated for Brock Prize

Fen English, the School of Education’s R. Wendell Eaves Senior Distinguished Professor of Educational Leadership, has been nominated for the Brock International Prize in Education.

Each year the Brock Prize recognizes an individual who has made a specific innovation or contribution to the science and art of education, resulting in a significant impact on the practice or understanding of the field. This year there are nine nominees.

English was nominated for his work as the founder of the curriculum management audit, which enables schools to systematically improve student achievement by designing internal organizational linkages that align curriculum, instruction, and assessment.

Over four decades, the curriculum management audit has been performed in more than 400 school districts and three foreign countries.

The Brock Prize is named after John A. Brock and his late wife Donnie Brock. John Brock is chairman of the board of Medallion Petroleum, Inc. in Oklahoma. Donnie Brock was a former educator, having taught in elementary schools in Oklahoma and Texas. The Brock Prize and the Brock Prize Symposium are funded by the Brock Family Community Foundation.

Winners of the prize are awarded $40,000 and honored at a ceremony during the Brock Prize Symposium. The prize has been awarded every year since 2002.

English teaches at the graduate level in the School of Education’s Educational Leadership program. He has served as a practitioner in leadership roles in K-12 education as a public school principal, director, assistant superintendent and superintendent. In higher education he has been a department chair, dean, and vice chancellor of academic affairs, as well as having been a partner in an international accounting and consulting firm for three years in Washington, D.C.

His scholarship and research include more than 40 books and over 100 articles published in both academic and practitioner journals. He has been recognized by his academic colleagues as a leader in his field, having been elected to the Presidency of the University Council of Educational Administration in 2006-07 and President of National Council of Professors of Educational Administration in 2011-2012.