Faculty News

Pat Shane elected national president of NSTA

Pat Shane, associate director of the Center for Mathematics and Science Education (CMSE) and clinical professor of science education at the School, recently was elected the 2009-2010 president of the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA). Shane will serve a three-year term beginning in June 1, 2008. She will first assume the position of president-elect followed by president in 2009-2010 and then past-president in 2010-2011.

Issues and goals outlined in NSTA’s 2005 strategic plan will continue to guide and inform the organization’s efforts during Shane’s tenure as president. Four critical goals include the continual engagement of all teachers of science to improve science education, the improvement of student learning by supporting and enhancing science teaching, the advocacy for the importance of science and the enhancement of science education through research-based policy and practice. 

The honor caps Shane’s long career of service to science education at the state and national levels, both at NSTA and at the North Carolina Science Leadership Association and North Carolina Science Teachers Association where she served as president for both associations. A former middle school teacher and counselor, Shane has edited five books on science leadership and issues and authored several articles in science education journals. During her career, Shane has received $2 million in grant funding for various projects. Additionally, Shane received the Vi Hunsucker Award as the 2005 Outstanding Science Educator in North Carolina. She earned three degrees at Indiana University in Bloomington, Ind. between 1966 and 1976, and received her Ph.D. at UNC-Chapel Hill in 1987.

The National Science Teachers Association, founded in 1944 and headquartered in Arlington, Virginia, is the largest organization in the world committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all. NSTA's current membership of more than 55,000 includes science teachers, science supervisors, administrators, scientists, business and industry representatives, and others involved in and committed to science education.