Faculty News

Catherine Marshall receives UCEA lifetime achievement award

Longtime social justice advocate and scholar Catherine Marshall has been selected as the recipient of the 2008 Roald F. Campbell Lifetime Achievement Award from the University Council for Educational Administration (UCEA). The award will be presented at the annual UCEA conference in Orlando, Fla., Oct. 30-Nov. 2, 2008. 

Established in 1992, the Roald F. Campbell Award recognizes a senior professor in the field of educational administration whose professional life has been characterized by “extraordinary commitment, excellence, leadership, productivity, generosity and service,” according to its Web site.  

Faculty across the United States submit nominations for the award, and the UCEA Executive Committee makes the annual selection. Criteria used in selecting the recipient include: (a) longtime distinguished service as teacher and/or researcher in the field of educational administration; (b) superior contributions to the field’s body of knowledge; and (c) recognized leadership to improve the field.

“Catherine’s research is embedded in the foundation of our contemporary understanding of critical leadership for equity and excellence,” said Associate Professor Kathleen Brown, chair of the Educational Leadership area at the UNC School of Education. “This recognition is richly deserved. It brings great honor to Catherine and to UNC-Chapel Hill.”

“Her scholarship and distinguished service have generated a legacy of profound implications and change in our field,” said Fenwick English, the R. Wendell Eaves Distinguished Professor of Educational Leadership at the UNC School of Education, in nominating Marshall for the award. “We are all the better for her persistent efforts to engage us in a different kind of dialogue, to extend and erase some of the historically marginalized voices and views in our profession, and to expand our concepts of quality educational research.”

Marshall, a professor of educational leadership and policy at the UNC School of Education since 1991, is the author or co-author of 11 books, 85 book chapters and journal articles, and innumerable invited talks, symposia and conference presentations focused on addressing significant issues surrounding social justice, gender issues in educational leadership and qualitative research. She has influenced educational leadership at the national level through commissioned policy papers, a sustained and significant publication record and extensive leadership in national organizations.

She has mentored and taught numerous doctoral students, including service as the longtime director of the School of Education’s Smallwood Fellowship Program, which is devoted to recruiting talented minority females for doctoral study and eventually into high-level educational leadership positions.  

Before coming to Carolina, she held faculty positions at Vanderbilt University and the University of Pennsylvania.

One of Marshall’s most influential national activities was her work on securing a Ford Foundation grant for “Leadership for Social Justice” in 2001-2002. Through this grant, she galvanized a host of scholars at many institutions to begin to formulate a national agenda for social justice. One result of her leadership was the creation of a Special Interest Group on Leadership for Social Justice in the American Educational Research Association (AERA) in 2006.

Her leadership and service have included terms as president of the Politics of Education Association in 1990-1992 and vice president of AERA’s Division L—Educational Policy and Politics—in 2002-2004. At the state level, she has worked with the former state superintendent on activities pertaining to concerns for social justice.

Among her many awards and recognitions, Marshall received the 2003 Willystine Goodsell Award from AERA for her scholarship and activism on behalf of women and girls.

Her influence extends to the international arena as well. She has delivered invited addresses at Australian Catholic University in Sydney in 2003, New South Wales Primary Principals Association Annual Conference in Sydney in 1995 and Deaken University in Geelong, Australia, in 1995. 

The Campell Award for Lifetime Achievement award celebrates the remarkable pioneering life of Roald F. Campbell (1905-1988), whose distinguished career in educational administration spanned public education and higher education and was a lifelong quest to understand, bring together and refine knowledge with the goal of improving education.

The 15 previous recipients of the Campbell Award for Lifetime Achievement included one other faculty member from the UNC-Chapel Hill, David L. Clark, who was a Kenan Professor at the School of Education from 1991 until his death in 1998. He received the Roald F. Campbell Award in 1994.

Marshall is the fourth woman to receive the Campbell Award.

UCEA is a consortium of major research universities with doctoral programs in educational leadership and policy in the United States and Canada. Founded in 1947, its dual mission is to improve the preparation of educational leaders and to promote the development of professional knowledge in school improvement and administration, for the benefit of schools and children.