Faculty News

Lynda Stone elected president of John Dewey Society

Professor of Philosophy of Education Lynda Stone has been elected president of the John Dewey Society for the Study of Education and Culture. Her official two-year term runs from 2010-2011.

As president-elect, she is currently serving as program chair of the annual meeting of the Dewey Society, held at the annual conference of the American Educational Research Association (AERA).  

Stone also serves as director of Graduate Studies and area chair of Culture, Curriculum and Change (CCC) at the School of Education. 

She has been an educator for more than 40 years, first teaching secondary social studies for 15 years in California after earning a baccalaureate degree from the University of California at Berkeley. Following graduate studies at Stanford University, she taught briefly at the University of New Hampshire, Michigan State University, Swarthmore College and Bryn Mawr College. She was an assistant professor for five years at the University of Hawaii at Manoa (Honolulu) before coming to the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Education in 1993.

In her teaching, Stone focuses on theoretical foundations and contexts of education, philosophy of education and ethics, and specialty seminars. She is known for several lines of research in educational thought: poststructuralist perspectives, the writings of John Dewey, feminist theory and philosophies of curriculum and history.

She is one of five members of an international research group of scholars in philosophy and history of education sponsored by the Flanders government. In addition, she is newly appointed co-editor of the series “Contemporary Philosophies and Theories of Education” for the international publisher, Springer.

Stone has served in various capacities in AERA, the International Network of Philosophers of Education, the John Dewey Society and the Philosophy of Education Society. She has been honorary Secretary of Division B, Curriculum Studies of AERA, and one of five members of a national task force to establish standards for reporting humanities-based research for AERA.

The John Dewey Society, founded in 1935, “keeps alive John Dewey's commitment to the use of critical and reflective intelligence in the search for solutions to crucial problems in education and culture,” according to its Web site. Through its programs and publications, the Society encourages “careful and responsible examination of our most basic educational and cultural commitments.” Members of the Society are scholars from universities across the United States as well as Canada, Mexico, Australia, Nigeria, Belgium, Finland and Sweden.