Faculty News

Henry Frierson receives Graduate School Dean’s Award

Henry T. Frierson, Jr., professor of educational psychology, measurement and evaluation, has been selected as the recipient of this year’s Dean’s Award from the Graduate School of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The award recognizes “significant contributions to graduate education as demonstrated by exemplary leadership, service and commitment to the University and its graduate students.” It will be presented on April 6, 2006.

From 1989 to 1996, Frierson was assistant, then associate dean of the Graduate School. During those years, he obtained considerable funding for graduate student support and special research programs — efforts he has continued as a full-time professor in the School of Education.

Currently, Frierson is the director of the Research Education Support Program, a large multi-faceted initiative largely funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) to support minority students at several levels — undergraduate students as they pursue quality research, graduate students completing research for their doctoral degrees and undergraduate students from other colleges and universities who seek a full-time summer research experience at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

In 2004, he was lead principal investigator on a $10 million grant awarded by NSF to establish the North Carolina Alliance to Create Opportunity Through Education (OPT-ED). This three-campus, multi-year project seeks to increase the number of underrepresented minority students in North Carolina who earn Ph.D. degrees and ultimately enter the faculty ranks in the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics. In 2005, he received another $2.2 million grant from NSF to extend this work to benefit minority students in the social, behavioral and economic sciences.

“Hank has done tremendous work in recruiting, mentoring and supporting minority students at both the undergraduate and graduate levels,” wrote Liz Thurston, assistant dean of the Graduate School, in announcing the award. “This is certainly a well-deserved honor that recognizes his outstanding work here at Carolina.”