Faculty News


Pat Shane Named N.C.’s Outstanding Science Educator

Pat Shane, associate director of the Center for Mathematics and Science Education and clinical associate professor in the School of Education, received the Vi Hunsucker Award as the Outstanding Science Educator in North Carolina for 2005.

Fenwick W. English New President of University Council for Educational Administration

Fenwick English, Robert W. Eaves distinguished professor of educational leadership, has been elected president of the University Council for Educational Administration.

Mary Ruth Coleman Elected to Lead Council for Exceptional Children

Mary Ruth Coleman, clinical associate professor at the School of Education and senior scientist at the Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute, has been elected president of the Council for Exceptional Children.

Audrey Heining-Boynton Named N.C. Foreign Language Teacher of the Year

Audrey Heining-Boynton, professor of foreign language education and English as a second language, received the Teacher of the Year Award from the Foreign Language Association of North Carolina.

Audrey Heining-Boynton Opens NASDAQ

Audrey Heining-Boynton, president of the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages, opened the NASDAQ stock market on Aug. 29, 2005, highlighting the importance of languages in the business world.

James J. Gallagher Receives Enduring Contribution Award

James J. Gallagher, Kenan professor emeritus and former director of the Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute (FPG), received the Gold Medal for Enduring Contribution by a Psychologist in the Public Interest, presented by the American Psychological Association.

Don Bailey Appointed to National Head Start Committee

Don Bailey, Kenan professor and director of the Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute, has been appointed to a national committee to help assess Head Start.

Duane Brown Receives National Career Development Award

Duane Brown, professor of school counseling, received the 2005 Eminent Career Award from the National Career Development Association, recognizing his contributions to the advancement of career development.