Alumni News

Click here to see updates from recent alumni.


Fred Mueller (A.B.Ed. '61, M.Ed. '64, Ph.D. '70) appears on 'The State of Things'

Fred Mueller, director of the National Center for Catastrophic Injury Research at UNC-Chapel Hill, appeared on WUNC-FM's "The State of Things" on Dec. 13 to discuss his research regarding sports-related injuries.

John I. Wilson (M.Ed. '71) named 'Tar Heel of the Week'

John I. Wilson, executive director of the National Education Association, was profiled by The News & Observer as the newspaper's "Tar Heel of the Week."

Greger-Holt (M.Ed. '79) wins GSK lifetime achievement award

George Greger-Holt, director of student services at Chatham County Schools, has won a GlaxoSmithKline Child Health Recognition Award.

Steven D. Mullinix (M.A. '75, Ph.D. '78) receives N.C. Career Development Association award

Steven Mullinix, a partner with HRC Behavioral Health and Psychiatry in Chapel Hill and Raleigh, has received the Roy N. Anderson Award from NCCDA.

Todd Roberts named chancellor of N.C. School of Science and Mathematics

Roberts, a Durham native who had been serving as superintendent of the public school system in Ann Arbor, Mich., was named to the post in August by the University of North Carolina system Board of Governors.

Edward Hanes Jr. wins School of Law alumni award

Edward Hanes Jr. (A.B.Ed. '95, J.D. '00) has been named the 2010 Outstanding Recent Graduate by the UNC Law Alumni Association

Lisa Napp named Orange County Schools' 2011 Principal of the Year

Lisa Napp (M.S.A. '98, Ed.D. '08), principal at Efland-Cheeks Elementary, has been named Orange County's Principal of the Year

Mary Nix Hollowell (M.A.T. '91, Ph.D. '94) wins advocacy award

Mary Nix Hollowell, who has worked to end the use of solitary confinement cells in Georgia public schools, has been named the winner of the National Association for Multicultural Education's 2010 Equity & Social Justice Advocacy Award.

Katie Hammond Wall named Johnston County Teacher of the Year

Katie Hammond Wall (A.B.Ed. '05), an eighth-grade math and social studies teacher at Clayton Middle School, has been named Johnston County's Teacher of the Year.

Biology teacher Cindy Thompson Rudolph (B.S.S.T. ’86, M.A.T. ’87) receives “Oscar of Education”

Cindy Rudolph’s biology classes at Hopewell High School in Huntersville, N.C., are sometimes surprising. Her students might be singing the photosynthesis chant or performing the mitosis square dance as a way of learning about biology and its many complex and abstract concepts.

Mathematics teacher Marcus Herman-Giddens (M.A.T. ’88) named Teacher of the Year for Chatham County Schools

Marcus Herman-Giddens was recently named Teacher of the Year for Chatham County Schools. He teaches mathematics at Northwood High School where he has been a teacher for the past four years.

David Cassady (A.B.Ed. ’87) named Principal of the Year for Montgomery County Schools

David Cassady was recently selected as the 2009-10 Wachovia Principal of the Year for Montgomery County Schools. Cassady is a principal at West Montgomery High School in Troy, N.C. where he has worked since 2006.  

Alumnus Gus Martin, Associate Professor Kathleen Brown partner with DPI in working with turnaround schools

A few years ago, North Carolina leaders realized that strong action was needed to improve a group of schools across the state where student achievement was low.

Gerry House (Ed.D. ’88) tapped for Hall of Fame of Long Island’s Top 50 Most Influential Women

Gerry House, president and CEO of the Institute for Student Achievement (ISA), was honored on May 20, 2010, by the Long Island Business News (LIBN) as one of the Top 50 Most Influential Women in Long Island, N.Y.

Meredith Wolfe (A.B.Ed. ’09) named Beginning Teacher of the Year by Asheboro City Schools

Meredith Wolfe, who completed her baccalaureate degree in elementary education a year ago, was selected as the recipient of this year’s Apple of Excellence Award by Asheboro City Schools.

Steven D. Mullinix (M.A. ’75, Ph.D. ’78) receives Mary G. Clarke Award from N.C. Psychological Association

Steven D. Mullinix was presented the Mary G. Clarke Award from the North Carolina Psychological Association (NCPA) at its spring conference in Charlotte, N.C., on April 24, 2010.

Enrique Murillo (Ph.D. ’99) organizes nationwide Latino Education and Advocacy Day

UNC-Chapel Hill School of Education alumnus Enrique Murillo organized a nationwide summit to promote the development Latino education.

M. Jayne Fleener (M.A.T. ’83, Ph.D. ’89) named dean of N.C. State’s College of Education

M. Jayne Fleener, dean and E.B. “Ted” Robert Professor at Louisiana State University’s College of Education, has been named dean of the College of Education at North Carolina State University, effective July 1.

Zollie Stevenson Jr. (Ph.D. ’84) receives national award for contribution to educational assessment

Zollie Stevenson Jr., director of Student Achievement and School Accountability (SASA) programs for the U.S. Department of Education, is the recipient of the Outstanding Contribution to Educational Assessment award given by the National Association of Test Directors (NATD).

Heather Sandberg-Fehr (M.A.T. ’01) receives statewide award for excellence in teaching AP biology

Heather Sandberg-Fehr was recently selected as the recipient of the Siemens AP College Board award for the state of Virginia.

Matt Sears (M.A.T. ’04) receives Career Award for Science and Mathematics Teachers

Matt Sears, a mathematics teacher at Hillside New Tech High School in Durham, N.C., is one of five North Carolina teachers selected as the inaugural recipients of the Career Awards for Science and Mathematics Teachers.

Erin Burns (B.A. ’09, UNC-BEST alumna): Born to teach

Teaching biology at West Charlotte High School is much more than a career in education for Erin Burns, who graduated from UNC in 2009 with a major in biology, a minor in entrepreneurship and N.C. teaching credentials.

Darla Williamitis (M.S.A ’09) named Teacher of the Year for N.C. District, Department of Defense Education Activity, Fort Bragg

Darla Williamitis was recently selected as the 2010 Teacher of the Year for the North Carolina district of Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA).

William Melega (M.Ed. ’05) recognized with national teaching award

William Melega was recently selected as the national recipient of the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) National Citizenship Education Teacher’s Award.