Alumni News

María Fraser-Molina (M.A.T. ’86) receives national Instructional Leadership Award

María Fraser-Molina has received the Instructional Leadership Award from the National Council of Instructional Administrators (NCIA).

The award is presented annually to an instructional administrator in a community college who exemplifies academic leadership through creativity and innovation in his or her work, sustained commitment to instructional issues and challenges, and/or impact on the college.

Community colleges across the country submit nominations.

Fraser-Molina, who serves as dean and department head of Arts, Sciences and University Transfer at Durham Technical Community College in Durham, N.C., is the sixth recipient of this award.

She was recognized for her leadership in merging the University Transfer and General Education departments at Durham Tech, her development and implementation of two successful Spanish certificate options and her service on the advisory boards of the North Carolina Community College System’s Hispanic/Latino Initiative and the Global Education Consortium. She is currently serving as vice chair of the Global Education Consortium.

“Dr. María Fraser-Molina's efforts to expand and globalize our Arts, Sciences, and University Transfer curriculum have been among her most noteworthy achievements,” said Durham Tech President Phail Wynn, Jr. He also pointed to other initiatives under her watch, including the creation of a study abroad program, new elective courses with a global perspective and collaboration with the Duke-UNC Latin American Center in hosting the annual Latin American Film Festival.

“This award renews my commitment to community college quality education and student success,” Fraser-Molina said.

NCIA is affiliated with the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) and is headquartered at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln. The award was presented during the organization’s Instructional Leadership Academy in Long Beach, California, in April 2006, preceding the AACC annual convention.