Alumni News

Click here to see updates from recent alumni.


Drinda Benge Cherukuri (Ed.D. '06) receives statewide recognition for research paper

Drinda Benge Cherukuri recently received the 2006 Marvin Wyne Outstanding Student Paper Award from the North Carolina Association for Research in Education (NCARE) for her paper titled "Latina/o Students' Knowledge and Perceptions about American Citizenship."

Margarita Machado-Casas (Ph.D. '06) reaches out to Latino community, helps parents become advocates for their children’s education

In an effort to help Latino parents take a more active role in their children’s education, Margarita Machado-Casas, created LUPE [Latinos Unidos por la Educación de sis hijos (Latinos United for the Education of their Children)], a group that works with Durham’s newly-arrived Latino immigrant community.

Julius Chambers, four alumni honored by School of Education

The School of Education hosted its seventh annual Awards Luncheon on Saturday, Oct. 7, 2006 at the George Watts Hill Alumni Center on the UNC-Chapel Hill campus. Five outstanding individuals were recognized for their contributions to education.

Joan Lipsitz (Ph.D. ’77) named Purpose Prize Fellow

Joan Lipsitz was among the first group of Americans to be named Purpose Prize Fellows. The Purpose Prize is a major new initiative to invest in Americans over 60 who are contributing to social innovation as they “lead with experience.”

Christina O'Connor (M.Ed. '93) to lead UNC-Greensboro Teacher Mentoring Network

Christina O'Connor, who received her Master of Education degree in 1993 from the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Education, has joined UNC-G as project coordinator for the new Wachovia Teacher Mentoring Network.

Melinda Fitzgerald (A.B.Ed. '96) wins National Disney Award

A Smith Middle School (Chapel Hill, N.C.) teacher is one of 44 educators nationwide to be honored by Disney this summer -- earning herself $10,000 and her school $5,000. Melinda Fitzgerald, who teaches eighth-grade science, has been chosen from 75,000 nominees as one of the recipients of the 2006 Disney Teacher Award.

Eastern campus of NCCAT to open in Ocracoke Coast Guard Station
Alton Ballance (A.B.Ed. ’79) plays central role in turning on the lights

When the old Ocracoke Island Coast Guard station closed its doors nine years ago, the Island’s residents were devastated.

Jan Schuettpelz (M.Ed.'04): National Science Teachers Association Award

The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), the world’s largest organization of science teachers, recently announced Jan Schuettpelz as its recipient of the Delta Education/CPO Science Award for Excellence in Inquiry-based Science Teaching. 

Sarah Parker (A.B.Ed. '64) chosen as N.C. Chief Justice

Sarah Parker has been named chief justice of the Supreme Court of North Carolina. She is the third woman to serve on the state’s highest court, and all three became its chief.

Karla Eanes (Ed.D. '05) named principal of Chapel Hill High School

Karla Eanes has been named principal of Chapel Hill High School, a role that she says she has “looked forward to for a long time.” She began her new position on Jan. 23, 2006.