Alumni News

Click here to see updates from recent alumni.


Dean Richey (Ph.D. ’75) wins Caplenor Research Award

Hundreds of young children with disabilities and their families regularly experience empowerment and support because for 30 years, Dean Richey has never forgotten their individual needs while conducting his academic research.

Barbara Smith (M.Ed. ’60) inducted into Longwood University Athletics Hall of Fame

Barbara B. Smith was inducted into the inaugural Athletics Hall of Fame at Longwood University.

Marjorie Buckley (A.B.Ed. ’62) wins William Richardson Davie Award

The UNC-Chapel Hill Board of Trustees awarded Marjorie Bryan Buckley with its highest honor – the William Richardson Davie Award.

Clay White (A.B.Ed. ’75) receives Autism Society of America Award

In recognition of his work with children and teenagers with autism, Clay White received the Autism Society of America’s 2005 Wendy F. Miller National Recognition Award.

Dean and Linnea Smith Among Six Honored by School of Education

The School of Education hosted its annual awards luncheon on Oct. 8, 2005, honoring several individuals who have made significant contributions and advancements in the field of education.

Anne Ponder (A.B.Ed. '71) named new chancellor of UNC-Asheville

Anne Ponder has been named the new chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Asheville.

Tricia Willoughby (A.B. '73) named executive director of the North Carolina Business Committee for Education

Tricia Willoughby was tapped by Gov. Mike Easley in August 2005 as the new executive director of the North Carolina Business Committee for Education (NCBCE).

Henry Johnson (M.A.T. '74) becomes new Assistant Secretary for Elementary and Secondary Education

Henry Johnson was confirmed by the U.S. Senate on July 29, 2005, as the new assistant secretary for elementary and secondary education.

James Merrill (A.B.Ed. '73) named N.C. Superintendent of the Year

James Merrill, superintendent of the Alamance-Burlington (N.C.) School System, was named North Carolina’s 2005 Superintendent of the Year.