Alumni Council

Members

 

Officers and Members

Dr. Bob Bellamy - President (M.Ed. '69, Ed.D. '83)
Associate State Superintendent (retired)
7516 Rainwater Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27615
Phone: (919) 873-1210
rhbellamy@mindspring.com
Dr. Eliz Colbert - Past President (B.A. '86 M.Ed. '95)
Professional Development Consultant
NC Dept. of Public Instruction
301 N. Wilmington St.
Raleigh, NC 27699-6368
Phone: (919) 807-4187 (w);
(919) 859-4272 (h)
ecolbert@dpi.state.nc.us
Cynthia Rigsbee - President Elect (A.B.Ed.'79)
Regional Education Facilitator
Educator Recruitment and Development, DPI
3008 Broomsedge Way
Durham, NC 27712
Phone: (919) 245-4050 ext. 32950 (w);
(919) 383-3886 (h)
tchrc@aol.com
Carole Symons Roebuck - Secretary (A.B.Ed.’63)
Former Elementary Teacher
1816 Rivershore Rd.
Elizabeth City, NC 27909-6208
Phone: (252) 335-1987 (h)
carole_roebuck@yahoo.com
Dr. Bill McDiarmid - Dean
School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill 27599
Phone: (919) 966-1356
Fax: (919) 962-2563
bmcd@unc.edu
Dr. Barbara Holland Chapman (Ph.D. '81)
Principal (retired)
2004 Crabtree Ln.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone: (919) 933-0765 (h)
barbchapman@bellsouth.net
Dr. Janice Oelrich Davis   (B.S.S.T. ’71, M.A.T. ’75, Ph.D. ’78)
Deputy State Superintendent (retired)
4179 US HWY 158 E
Oxford, NC 27565
Phone: (919) 690-0523
davisjo49@hotmail.com
Dr. Ed Dunlap (Ph.D. '79)
Executive Director
NC School Boards Association
P.O. Box 97877
Raleigh, NC 27624
Phone: (919) 841-4040 (h)
Fax: (919) 981-2637
edunlap@ncsba.org
Dr. Martin Eaddy (A.B.Ed. '70)
Consultant
P.O. Box 616
Lincolnton, NC 28093
Phone: (704) 748-9689 (w)
Fax: (704) 735-5181
eaddylmm@bellsouth.net
Dr. Nancy Farmer (A.B.Ed.’69, M.Ed. ’70, Ed.D. ’81)
Former Associate Superintendent
Orange County Schools
205 New Castle Place, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone: (919) 933-6853 (h)
Fax: (919) 942-0437
nfarmer3@nc.rr.com
Shea Grisham (A.B.Ed. '08)
Teacher, Wake County Public Schools
4728 Radcliff Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27609
Phone: (434) 242-2025
shea.grisham@gmail.com
Dr. Linda C. Hutchinson-Harmon (M.Ed. ’74, Ph.D. ’83)
Educational Consultant
1300 Queens Rd. W.
Charlotte, NC 28207
Phone: 704/365-5256 (h)
lhutchinsn@aol.com
Dr. Lynne Cannon Johnson (A.B.Ed. ’85, M.Ed. ’95)
Dir. Educator Recruitment and Development, DPI
612 Homeplace Dr.
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone: (919) 942-4930
lynnej@northcarolina.edu
Dr. Oliver C. Johnson (Ph.D. '84)
Assistant Superintendent for Student Services
Johnston County Schools
P.O. Box 1336
211 Rose St.
Smithfield, NC 27577
Phone: (919) 934-2518 ext. 200 (w); (919) 934-2376 (h)
Fax: (919) 934-3281
oliverjohnson@johnston.k12.nc.us
Arthur Kamiya, Jr. (M.A.T. ’78)
Great Activities Publishing Company
P.O. Box 51158
Durham, NC 27717
Phone: (800) 927-0682 (w)
Fax: (919) 490-3062
artie@greatactivities.net
Dr. Larry Mabe
Superintendent (Retired)
313 Windchime Dr.
Wilmington, NC 28412
Phone: (910) 793-5943(h)
lmabe@ec.rr.com
Dr. Carol Malloy
113 Wetland Dr.
Willington, NC 28412
Phone: (910) 793-9842 (h)
cmalloy@email.unc.edu
Dr. David A. (Gus) Martin - (M.Ed.'73, Ph.D.'82)
Consultant
2605 Lochmore Dr.
Raleigh, NC 27608
Phone: (919) 781-7758 (h)
gus_martin@nc.rr.com
Dr. Ben Matthews (A.B.'71, Ph.D.'84)
Director, School Support Division
Public Schools of North Carolina
Rm. 795, Education Building
301 N. Wilmington St.
Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone: (919) 807-3501 (w);
(919) 870-6669 (h)
Fax: (919) 807-3502
bmatthew@dpi.state.nc.us
Dr. Teresa Mozingo (Ed.D. ’01)
Assistant Superintendent, Middle School Curriculum
Durham Public Schools
506 Oxfordshire Ln.
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone: (919) 560-2027 (w)
Fax: (919) 560-2271
terri.mozingo@dpsnc.net
Dr. James Overman (MSA ’99)
Senior Director for Elementary Programs
Wake County Schools
5908 Heatherstone Dr.
Raleigh, NC 27606

Phone: (919) 233-7028 (h)
joverman@wcpss.net

Amy Rickard (A.B.Ed. '94, MSA '00)
Principal, Morris Grove Elementary School
215 Eubanks Rd.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone: (919) 918-4800
arickard@chccs.k12.nc.us
Mitzi Safrit (A.B.Ed. '89)
Teacher, Wiley Elementary School
301 St. Mary's St.
Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone: (919) 856-7723 (w);
msafrit@wcpss.net
Dr. William P. Steed (Ed.D. ’87)
Superintendent (retired)
120 Raintree Ct.
Advance, NC 27006

Phone: 336/998-7477 (h)
wpsteed@yadtel.net

Tonya Thomas (A.B.Ed. ’91, MSA ’01)
Principal CG Credle Elementary School
4160 Salem Rd.
Oxford, NC 27565
thomast@gcs.k12.nc.us
Dr. Mike Williams (A.B.Ed.'67, Ed.D. '92)
Executive Director
UNC Center for School Leadership Development
140 Friday Center Dr.
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone: (252) 535-4523 (h)
(919) 843-4110 (w)
mwilliams@northcarolina.edu

SOE Faculty Representatives

Professor Matinette Horner (A.B.Ed. '96)
Distinguished P-12 Educator
School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (919) 962-0019
mvhorner@email.unc.edu
Professor Eric Houck (A.B.Ed. '92)
Associate Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy
School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (919) 843-8572
eahouck@unc.edu

SOE Staff Representatives

Leslie Deslis
Assistant Dean for Development
School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (919) 843-9277
Fax: (919) 843-5681
leslie@unc.edu
Mike Hobbs
Communications Specialist
School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (919) 962-8687
Fax: (919) 966-1348
mrhobbs@email.unc.edu
Laurie Norman (B.S. ’83)
Director of Alumni Relations
School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (919) 843-6979
Fax: (919) 966-1348
laurie_norman@unc.edu

Graduate Student Association Representative

Matt Green (M.A.Ed. '10)
President, Graduate Student Association
c/o School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (919) 843-4035
matthewmgreen@unc.edu