Alumni Council

Members

 

TBD

Officers and Members

Dr. Michael D. Priddy - President (AB '70, M.Ed. '75, Ed.D '81)
Chair, Public School Forum of NC
Consultant, 21st Century Leadership, LLC
808 East Oak Dr.
Durham, NC 27705
Phone: (252) 917-1815
mdpriddy@icloud.com
Cynthia Rigsbee - Past President (A.B.Ed.'79)
Regional Education Facilitator
Educator Recruitment and Development, DPI
3008 Broomsedge Way
Durham, NC 27712
Phone: (919) 245-4050 ext. 32950 (w);
(919) 383-3886 (h)
tchrc@aol.com
President Elect
Carole Symons Roebuck - Secretary (A.B.Ed.’63)
Former Elementary Teacher
1816 Rivershore Rd.
Elizabeth City, NC 27909-6208
Phone: (252) 335-1987 (h)
carole_roebuck@yahoo.com
Dr. Fouad Abd-El-Khalick - Dean
School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill 27599
Phone: (919) 966-7000
Fax: (919) 962-1533
fouad@unc.edu
Dr. Barbara Holland Chapman (Ph.D. '81)
Principal (retired)
2004 Crabtree Ln.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone: (919) 933-0765 (h)
barbchapman@bellsouth.net
Dr. Eliz Colbert (B.A. '86 M.Ed. '95)
Executive Director
North Carolina Virtual Public School
1017 Main Campus Drive, Partners I Bldg.
Suite 3900 Raleigh, NC 27606
Phone: (919) 513-8550 (w);
(919) 859-4272 (h)
eliz.colbert@ncpublicschools.gov
Ms. Belinda Corpening (A.B.Ed. ’72, M.Ed. ’73)
Elementary Reading Teacher (retired)
205 Hales Wood Rd.
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone: (828) 499-6280
Fax: (919) 981-2637
bcorpening6@yahoo.com
Dr. Ed Dunlap (Ph.D. '79)
Executive Director
NC School Boards Association
P.O. Box 97877
Raleigh, NC 27624
Phone: (919) 841-4040 (h)
Fax: (919) 981-2637
edunlap@ncsba.org
Dr. Nancy Farmer (A.B.Ed.’69, M.Ed. ’70, Ed.D. ’81)
Former Associate Superintendent
Orange County Schools
205 New Castle Place, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone: (919) 933-6853 (h)
Fax: (919) 942-0437
nfarmer3@nc.rr.com
Dr. Linda C. Hutchinson-Harmon (M.Ed. ’74, Ph.D. ’83)
Educational Consultant
1300 Queens Rd. W.
Charlotte, NC 28207
Phone: 704/365-5256 (h)
lhutchinsn@aol.com
Catherine B. Jenrette (A.B.Ed. ’71)
Secondary Teacher and Dir. of Secondary Education (retired)
6 Thomas St.
Charleston, SC 29403-6014
Phone: (843) 577-6838
cathybennjen@gmail.com
Dr. Lynne Cannon Johnson (A.B.Ed. ’85, M.Ed. ’95)
Dir. Educator Recruitment and Development, DPI
612 Homeplace Dr.
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone: (919) 942-4930
lynnej@northcarolina.edu
Dr. Oliver C. Johnson (Ph.D. '84)
Assistant Superintendent for Student Services
Johnston County Schools
P.O. Box 1336
211 Rose St.
Smithfield, NC 27577
Phone: (919) 934-2518 ext. 200 (w); (919) 934-2376 (h)
Fax: (919) 934-3281
oliverjohnson@johnston.k12.nc.us
Arthur Kamiya, Jr. (M.A.T. ’78)
Great Activities Publishing Company
P.O. Box 51158
Durham, NC 27717
Phone: (800) 927-0682 (w)
Fax: (919) 490-3062
artie@greatactivities.net
Shea Grisham Linden (A.B.Ed. '08, M.Ed. ’14)
Teacher, A.B. Combs Leadership Elem.
4728 Radcliff Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27609
Phone: (434) 242-2025
shea.grisham@gmail.com
Dr. Larry Mabe
Superintendent (Retired)
313 Windchime Dr.
Wilmington, NC 28412
Phone: (910) 793-5943(h)
lmabe@ec.rr.com
Dr. David A. (Gus) Martin - (M.Ed.'73, Ph.D.'82)
Consultant
2605 Lochmore Dr.
Raleigh, NC 27608
Phone: (919) 781-7758 (h)
gus_martin@nc.rr.com
Dr. Ben Matthews (A.B.'71, Ph.D.'84)
Director, School Support Division
Public Schools of North Carolina
Rm. 795, Education Building
301 N. Wilmington St.
Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone: (919) 807-3501 (w);
(919) 870-6669 (h)
Fax: (919) 807-3502
bmatthew@dpi.state.nc.us
Dr. Mary Faith Mount-Cors (Ph.D. ’10)
Clinical Professor, School of Education
Founder/President, Ed Intersect LLC
1531 Pathway Dr.
Carrboro, NC 27510
Phone: (919) 967-6522 (h);
maryfaithm40@gmail.com
Dr. James Overman (MSA ’99)
Area Superintendent, Elementary Support
Wake County Schools
5625 Dillard Dr.
Cary, NC 27518

Phone: (919) 533-7157
joverman@wcpss.net

Dr. Melissa Raspberry (A.B Ed. ’98, M.S.A. ’03, Ed.D. ’07)
Senior Education Consultant
American Institutes for Research
3505 Skybrook Ln.
Durham, NC 27703

Phone: (919) 641-9092
m_raspberry@hotmail.com

Amy Rickard (A.B.Ed. '94, MSA '00)
Principal, Morris Grove Elementary School
215 Eubanks Rd.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone: (919) 918-4800
arickard@chccs.k12.nc.us
Mitzi Safrit (A.B.Ed. '89)
Behavioral Intervention Coach
Intervention Services
Wake County Public Schools
Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone: (919) 852-3321 (w);
msafrit@wcpss.net
Ms. Kelli Hayner Smith (M.Ed. ’00)
Elementary School Teacher
Morris Grove
110 Stratford Dr.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone: (919) 740-5135 (w);
khsmith17@gmail.com
Dr. William P. Steed (Ed.D. ’87)
Superintendent (retired)
120 Raintree Ct.
Advance, NC 27006

Phone: 336/998-7477 (h)
wpsteed@yadtel.net

Sarah S. Stephens (A.B.Ed. ’09)
NC Principal Fellow
UNC-Chapel Hill Graduate Student, MSA
513 E Maple Ave.
Holly Springs, NC 27540
Phone: (910) 431-2823
sarahstephensnc@gmail.com

SOE Faculty Representatives

Professor Matinette Horner (A.B.Ed. '96)
Distinguished P-12 Educator
School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (919) 962-0019
mvhorner@email.unc.edu
Professor Eric Houck (A.B.Ed. '92)
Associate Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy
School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (919) 843-8572
eahouck@unc.edu

SOE Staff Representatives

Leslie Deslis
Assistant Dean for Development
School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (919) 843-9277
Fax: (919) 843-5681
leslie@unc.edu
Megan Garett
Assistant Director of Development and Stewardship
School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (919) 843-9277
Fax: (919) 962-3941
megan.garrett@unc.edu
Mike Hobbs
Communications Specialist
School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (919) 962-8687
Fax: (919) 966-1348
mrhobbs@email.unc.edu
Laurie Norman (B.S. ’83)
Director of Alumni Relations
School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (919) 843-6979
Fax: (919) 966-1348
laurie_norman@unc.edu

Graduate Student Association Representative

Charles Midthun
Doctoral Student, Policy, Leadership and School Improvement
President, Graduate Students Association
c/o School of Education
CB 3500, UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Phone: (919) 843-4035
cmidthun@live.unc.edu